Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:29 p.m. - 2014-06-02
polyglot minutae
So far today I have tracked down a possible Arabic tutor and worked on cross-registering for a fall intermediate Spanish class at another college that doesn't conflict with nursing. Considering that in the wee hours of the morning I slacked off on studying cardiology and read a couple hundred pages of my latest French best-selling murder mystery instead, it's at least been a linguistically fruitful morning.

Funny no matter what language I say, "My house is a disaster" in, it doesn't get any cleaner.

I can't decide if I should try to get back on the Russian horse or switch to Polish. Nobody in Connecticut speaks Russian and tons of people speak Polish. Polish is a lot more useful where I am right now, but I love the Cyrillic alphabet and Russian poetry. The two languages are very close linguistically, just different alphabets. I'll probably never use Russian, but it is one of those impractical things like my ancient VW cabrio that I love. Right now I am doing none of either. I tackle my Russian poetry every now and then and kick myself for not keeping up on Russian, and then I listen to the Polish parents talking in the halls of my son's preschool and kick myself for not taking up Polish. Why they are mutually exclusive is mainly a time thing. I can't decide so I do neither, and have been doing neither for a while.


0 comments

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!