Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:02 p.m. - 2013-11-05
political stress
I am running for class president and I'm totally stressed out. There is an incumbent president who is running for reelection, and although I think I can beat her -- because I have a campaign plan and I doubt she does -- I am totally stressed out. What if she wins? What if nobody votes for me and I look like an idiot for running? What if I'm forced to face the fact that I'm not the kind of person people want for class president?

I just got official notice that I'm on the ballot and the election is Wednesday, which gives me basically zero time to campaign. I'm hoping this works to my advantage, because I plan to do a mass class e-mail on Tuesday and hand out fliers Wednesday morning on the way in to class, which won't give my opponent time to make up her own stuff in response. I SHOULD be able to get myself elected, but what if I SHOULD but fail anyway?

My main platform is that class participation should be ACCESSIBLE, i.e. easy and convenient, and something you can put on your resume. Currently nursing class projects, such as can drives and gift-filled shoeboxes for kids in developing countries, are mostly a guilt-inducing pain in the ass. I want us doing free BP/diabetes clinics, etc, with the opportunity to volunteer or serve on an event committee and put it on your resume with minimal time commitment.

Anyhow, I'm stressed. In two days I could be class president, or a total loser. Either of those possibilities sis stressful. Either I'm going to be mortified, or I'm going to be class president and have a shit-ton of work to do on top of everything else. Go me.

In case you're wondering, my main motivation for running is to put it on my resume. I want to work for Doctors Without Borders. I want to go to grad school. I want someone else to pay for me to go to grad school, and I want Doctors Without Borders to want me someday. It's all baby steps, but being class president (and valedictorian, dammit) will help me get there.

Gotta go study.

Anyone reading this, please wish me well.


0 comments

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!