Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:54 a.m. - 2012-05-15
the juggling game
Ok. Deep sigh of relief.

I am now registered for general biology, starting May 28.

When I decided to take the spring semester off from school, I figured I'd just take biology in the summer and be on track to apply to nursing school in Dec. '12. What I didn't figure on was that summer courses, being short, would also be intensive -- three days a week, 8:30 to 3:30 for biology, vs. a couple of nights a week. I also didn't figure on the college's convenient and wonderful day care closing permanently -- which it just did, no announcement to parents, no warning ...

So I've been scrambling to find childcare for two kids for only five weeks during June, a period when school is getting out and tons of other parents are trying to find childcare too.

I finally found two day care centers that have openings -- matt is supposed to visit them today -- and some home care and sitter options if those two places don't work out.

There's always a voice in my head that says, "It's not going to work out, it's hopeless, you'll never finish nursing school much less do it on your timetable ..."

But I think biology is actually going to work out.

During the month of June, with biology and my CNA classes, I'm going to be in school four days a week, at least four hours a day and from 9:30 a.m. to 10 p.m. on Wednesdays.

I can swing it, though. Schoolwork itself is quite easy for me. It's logistics that freak me out.

I also have to register ASAP for anatomy and physiology -- the classes at the local campus are already full for the fall semester, so I will have to commute somewhere...

A&P is the one class you can have in progress when you apply. So I will apply to my school's nursing program, and probably UConn too... maybe more. I'm nervous because I don't know how applicants are evaluated, and I know smart people who are waitlisted. I'm a straight-A student and intend to stay that way, but it will probably be a strike against me that almost all of my non-science credits are from when I was in college 14-plus years ago, when I was 16, 17 and 18. (I started college 2 years early -- like I said, I'm a nerd.) Those were all A's too, I think, except Calculus I and II. But a long, long time ago...

If and when I finish nursing school I think I am definitely going to stay in school and get an MBA or something, if I can get into a good program. I spent most of my 20s planning my future around Matt's, and I was content to let him do the shining and play a supporting role. I suppose as long as I loved him, helping him be successful was success enough for me. But I don't love him anymore and so I don't think I'm going to be OK with just having a job that pays the bills anymore. I want to work for Doctors Without Borders but I'd like to bring more than just nursing skills to the table. Or even just nursing schools and six languages ...

Speaking of languages, I just discovered I'm fluent in French! Dumbass smart person that I am, I had always assumed that "fluent" meant "perfect," and my French isn't perfect. But apparently it means "able to speak or communicate easily" and that I can do for sure. OK, one down, four to go...


0 comments

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!