Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:57 p.m. - 2014-01-30
bullshit
I missed the first three days of school due to the flu, and my academic advisor, who inexplicably hates me, has decided to give me a "clinical performance improvement plan" citation for unprofessional conduct for it. Specifically, she said it's for failing to contact my clinical instructor on the two lab days I missed.

When she first told me this, I thought it sucked but I'd have to swallow it. The morning I missed the first lab, I had e-mailed the course leaders asking what I should do, and I was told I'd need to make up the lab days. No one told me I was to notify my clinical instructor; since it was the first week of school I didn't even know who my clinical instructor was.

A little obnoxious to get a CPIP for that, but ... I figured the student handbook probably spelled out that I had to contact my clinical instructor and that was that.

However, as it turns out, the handbook doesn't say that. It says to contact the course leaders, which I did. Also, I have an e-mail from the person who turned out to be my clinical instructor, saying that the course leaders had forwarded my e-mail to her -- so I HAD contacted her, just not directly.

I'm pissed off because now I have to deal with the hassle of contesting the CPIP. I'm not going to sign it because I did not do anything wrong. It's not just that it's unfair to give me a CPIP when I didn't know who my clinical instructor WAS -- it's not a requirement that I contact her anyway. AND, even if it was, I DID contact her through the course leaders.

I don't understand why this woman is out to get me. Actually I do; we have been rubbing each other the wrong way since our first meeting. It seems like she is always trying to catch me doing something wrong, and I don't appreciate that and I am sure it shows in my attitude toward her. At this point, I'm sure she dislikes me partly because I dislike her and it shows, although I am always polite.

I don't understand why she took an instant dislike to me in the first place, though. I also don't understand how a 50-something-year-old woman can be "out to get" certain students (I'm not the only one she is always trying to criticize/break down/catch doing something wrong). It's very personal, and academics aren't supposed to be personal. You know?

Such a pain in the ass ...


0 comments

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!