Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:57 a.m. - 2012-07-24
new vocabulary
I usually post funny stories about my kids on Facebook, but this one isn't exactly appropriate reading material for my fundamentalist in-laws...

Last night A. and I were sitting on the couch watching a movie and cashy had a nightmare and woke up. He wasn't going to go back to sleep right away so I brought him down to join us.

The part of the movie we were watching was G-rated, but it did involve a big storm that knocked a bunch of things over.

After the first crash, Cashy abruptly stopped eating strawberries, sat straight up, pointed at the screen, and chirped loudly in his sweet little voice, "OH, SHIT!"

A. started to snicker silently, but I didn't because I was trying very hard to calmly and nonchalantly ignore what I had just heard.

There was another crash onscreen, and Cashy pointed at the screen again and enunciated perfectly and loudly, in a cherubic voice, "OH, SHIT!"

Another crash.

"Ohhhh, SHIIIIITT!!!" he said, with emphasis.

"Cashy, can you say, 'Oh, merde?'" I said. I am not sure I totally thought that one through, but at the moment, it seemed like the situation would be slightly improved if I could teach him to swear in French.

"Oh, merde," Cashy said, without enthusiasm. Then he pointed at the screen, where something else had just fallen over, and said with great enthusiasm, "Oh, SHIT!"

And then there was another crash. And he said, "OH, FUCK!"

"OH, SHIT!"

"OH, FUCK!"

"OH, FUCKSHIT!"

I swear to God, this was the longest thunderstorm scene I have ever seen.

I decided it was time for Cashy to go back to bed.

At this point I was laughing as silently as possible, but I couldn't stop laughing.

I told A., "I wish I could say that he must have learned that from his dad, but I can't."

I cut down on my swearing when I had kids, but I never completely stopped. Until last night, though, I had thought I didn't swear often enough for them to pick it up.

Apparently I was wrong.

Now I am going to have to stop swearing completely. Or swear only in French. that seems a little more do-able ...

thank G I was watching that movie with A and not my in-laws...


0 comments

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!