Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:23 p.m. - 2012-05-31
hot women are everywhere!
I had one of those nights where I wanted to clonk my instructor's and a couple fellow students' heads together like coconuts. It was a great night to practice my relatively fledgling talent for not letting unimportant crap get to me. The instructor, who I think is bipolar on top of being the absolute worst teacher for anything that I've had in the past 10 years, told me tonight that I need to "grow up" because I'm "too afraid of hurting the patients."

"You're here to LEARN," she tells me. "The priority for you, here, is to get in there and practice your skills on those patients."

I said, "I'm sorry, but I thought the priorty was the patients. Maybe I'm being too cautious, but I'm concerned about injuring a patient if I just 'get in there and practice my skills' when I'm not familiar with the patient or how she's usually handled."

That's when the instructor told me, "Well, you need to grow up." I wasn't sure whether to laugh or cry. I'm 33 years old and this was said in front of a bunch of my classmates who are in their 20s so it was kind of humiliating. On the other hand, it was totally ludicrous.

I settled for "Yes, ma'am," with a totally straight face in a totally non-sarcastic voice; I as agreeing with her and giving her no lip so what's she supposed to say to that? She said nothing.

Five or 10 years ago I would have told her off, or gone home after class and sliced up my arms with a razor, but my goal these days is to totally not let people bother me if I didn't do anything wrong (or even if I did). So far so good tonight; 10 minutes after the conversation I was merely bemused by what a whack job the woman is. I didn't do anything wrong. I was erring on the side of caution with the patient and I am starting to suspect that the instructor has to publicly humuliate at least one student a night for some random offense and tonight was my lucky night.

She doesn't have any kids, that she-devil, but I pity her husband, her dog, and her rosebushes.

Outside of class, the world is treating me pretty good, as is that dating Web site J recommended to me. Now I'm corresponding with four women who are all smart, funny, attractive, grown-up, in command of basic English, and every single one of them i pretty damn cool. If nothing else, maybe I'll get some good female friends out of this. Interestingly, all of them are about as femme as I am, and all of them are probably better with tools and mechanical devices than I am (and I'm no slouch). Here's a summary:

Heather -- She's the only one I've met in person -- 38, homeschools her kids (ages 7, 4 and 9 mos), has a master's in "behavioral analysis" specializing in autism, single b/c her wife left her for someone else a year ago after 15 years together. She is tall and has long brown hair and is very pretty. I think she is Jewish. Lives about 40 minutes away from me. We're bringing all of our kids to Chucky Cheese together on Saturday -- her idea. (I HATE Chucky Cheese but I like that she suggested it because it means she's probably not as uptight as I feared based on the fact that she home-schools...)

Kathleen -- 33, social worker, counsels troubled adolescents, shoulder-length auburn hair and freckles. She is smart, describes herself as outspoken and sarcastic, and I find her quite funny and no-bullshit by e-mail. She says she's planning to become a mom via IVF within the next year, which I really admire -- that she's gusty and sure of herself enough to go it alone. I'm a little put off by the fact that she doesn't have much interest in ever moving outside of connecticut, or traveling anywhere without hotels and plumbing, but I'm still interested in learning more about her... Lives abouit 15 minutes away.

Teri -- She's 43, from Texas, a photographer, also works part-time maintaining and fixing machines in a yogurt factory. She has the kind of short hair and cuteness that generally doesn't appeal to me in women -- she looks like a perky soccer mom -- but by e-mail she is very much on my wavelength. Life is and adventure ... loves doing spontaneous stuff, etc ... she lives about an hour away, but crazily enough only half an hour from my mom's -- and she works in the area grew up in. So we know a lot of the same people, restaurants, etc... planning to actually meet next time I'm in Vermont.

Last, Tonia -- She's 41, a lawyer, very politically active, rides a Harley. She is the one I know the least about, because we've only exchanged a couple of e-mails, but she's maybe the one I like the best. She's a WOW. On or off the motorcycle. I find the activist/lawyer thing very attractive, because it means she has a shitload of self-confidence -- I guess I find confidence attractive. Since I don't have much and therefore could never be a lawyer...

Anyhow ... there is is. Pretty damn cool. I love the Internet.


0 comments

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!